• July 1, 2019 SB 1399 will take effect. SB 1399 amended the Oklahoma Vehicle License
and Registration Act to provide for a system where upon change in vehicle ownership
the license plate previously issued for said vehicle stays with the owner and not
• July 1 dealers are to remove all license plates from the vehicles in their inventory
and surrender those plates to either the Oklahoma Tax Commission or a Motor License
• Following is a list of questions and answers that have been provided by the Oklahoma
Tax Commission. Of significant importance to licensed dealers are #2 and #23.
• #2 - Dealers are still required to place a 30 day temporary tag on each vehicle
sold. Purchasers are not allowed to affix their unexpired metal plate to their vehicle
until they complete the registration process.
• #23 - Dealers will no longer be responsible for expired registration on vehicles
• Not covered in the question and answer list is the benefit to be derived by the
elimination of the turnpike toll charges to the wrong person. The plate will stay
with the customer - if they opt to go through a toll without paying, they will receive
1. I heard something on the news about license plates staying with their owners.
What does that mean to me?
If you sell, trade or transfer your vehicle on or after July 1, 2019, remove the
plate from the vehicle as, going forward, the plate belongs to you.
2. I am buying a car from a dealership. Should I put my plate on my new car immediately?
No. A temporary paper tag will be issued for all cars purchased from a dealership.
Within 30 days from the vehicle’s assignment\purchase date present the plate to the
OTC or local tag agent to title and register the vehicle. Once the registration process
is complete, affix the plate to your vehicle.
3. I am buying a car from an individual. When can I put my plate on my newly–purchased
After the title and registration process with the OTC or local tag agency is completed,
affix your tag to your newly–purchased vehicle.
4. I bought a car from an individual which has no license plate on it. Can I drive
it without a plate?
The vehicle may be operated for 5 days without a plate as long as you have the bill
of sale or transferred title reflecting that you have purchased the vehicle. After
5 days, you must title and register your vehicle before it may be driven.
5. I bought a car from an individual who did not remove the license plate from the
vehicle. The plate has not yet expired. Can I drive the car with the existing plate
or should I replace it with my plate?
No, the previous owner’s plate should be surrendered to the OTC or a motor license
6. I bought a car from an individual who did not remove the license plate from the
vehicle. What should I do with the seller’s plate?
Remove the plate from the vehicle and return it to the OTC or your local tag agency.
7. I sold my car and I do not plan to purchase another one for several months. What
do I do with my license plate?
Keep the plate until you purchase another vehicle.
8. I forgot to remove my license plate when I sold my car. What do I do?
Advise the OTC or tag agent when registering your newly-purchased vehicle and you
will be able to obtain a new plate. You will be charged for a new plate.
9. I sold my car and removed my license plate. I plan to buy another vehicle soon.
I still have time left on my plate before it expires. Will I lose that time and have
to pay for another year?
No, any full registration months remaining on the plate will be prorated and applied
to the registration of your new\used vehicle.
10. The registration for my new\used vehicle is less than my previous vehicle. Will
I be refunded the difference?
No, you will not be entitled to a refund when the registration fee for your newly–purchased
vehicle is less than the registration fee for your previous vehicle.
11. Am I allowed to change the expiration date when registering a new vehicle if
I am using registration credit from a prior vehicle?
No. If you are using an existing registration credit on the registration of a new\used
vehicle, you may not modify the expiration date during the title and registration
12. I have remaining registration on my prior vehicle but I do not have the physical
plate. Can I still transfer that remaining registration to my new vehicle?
Yes, if the license plate number and\or ownership can be validated, the registration
remaining on the previous vehicle can be claimed. You will be charged for a new plate.
13. My license plate was expired when I sold my car. Will I be required to pay a
Yes, you will be required to pay a delinquent registration penalty.
14. If I am registering a new\used vehicle with a plate transferred from a vehicle
with expired registration and there is a difference in registration rates, do I pay
the back year at the old vehicle rate or the new one?
Delinquent registration fees and penalties are based on the classification of the
old vehicle with the expired registration, not the classification of the newly–acquired
15. Could I be charged multiple registration fees during a title and registration
Yes, in addition to the payment of current registration fees, any delinquent fees
and corresponding penalties owed will also be due.
16. Are sales and excise taxes affected by the new plate–to–owner system?
No, sales and excise taxes will continue to be charged as they are now.
17. Do I have to keep my registration in my vehicle at all times?
Yes, effective July 1, 2019, all motorists will be required to carry their certificates
of registration in their vehicles at all times.
18. I have a personalized plate associated to the primary plate I am transferring;
will I have to do a separate transfer to bring this plate to my new vehicle?
Any personalized or specialty license plates associated to your primary plate will
automatically be transferred to your new vehicle as long as that secondary registration
is not expired more than 13 months.
19. I own multiple vehicles can I move plates around whenever I want?
No, you can only transfer an existing registration when you are purchasing a new
vehicle. You can’t transfer a plate to another vehicle outside of a title and registration
20. I sold a commercial vehicle with registration remaining can I use that credit
even if my new vehicle is non-commercial?
No, the plate credit must match the plate type being issued to the new vehicle.
21. Can my spouse or child use my plate?
Yes, an affidavit can be signed in order to allow a family member to use a plate
registered in your name.
22. If I sell my trailer, should I also keep that tag?
Plate to owner only affects vehicles statutorily classified as a vehicle. Use types
not included are:
Boat/ Outboard Motor
Special Mobilized Trailer- Trailer Exempt
Commercial Rental Trailer- Commercial Trailer
Farm Trailer- Forest Trailer- Private Trailer
ATV- Utility Vehicle- Off Road Motorcycle
23. A dealer buys a vehicle titled in Oklahoma with an expired plate, are they required
to transfer title into the dealership’s name and purchase a plate?
No, the dealer will not be required to transfer title into their name, it would be
optional. They are also not responsible for expired registration on vehicles purchased.
24. I have a plate with remaining registration credit but I do not have or will not
be buying another vehicle will I receive a refund?
No, the credit is not refundable.
DOCC Issues 2018 Dollar Amount Changes
05/11/2018 - The DOCC has issued updates to the maximum amounts creditors can charge
on items affected by the Consumer Price Index.
Motor Vehicle Sales Tax
08/31/2017 - The Oklahoma Supreme Court upheld the constitutionality of a new sales
tax on motor vehicle sales. The 1.25% tax became effective July 1, 2017. This tax
will be paid by the consumer along with the current 3.25% excise tax when the vehicle
is registered at the tag office.
DOCC Issues 2017 Dollar Amount Changes
06/26/2017 - The DOCC has issued updates to the maximum amounts creditors can charge
on items affected by the Consumer Price Index.
Model Year Changeover
06/26/2017 - July 1 is the date that 2017 models become eligible for used dealer
excise tax exemption.
New Applicants Must Submit OSBI Report
05/03/2017 - Applicants for initial dealer or salesperson license must provide a
current OSBI Criminal History Report.
Buyers Guide Changes Announced by FTC
The FTC has issued the Final Rule regarding changes to the Buyers Guide. Rule changes
are effective January 28, 2017. Existing stock of current forms may be used until
January 28, 2018 (one year after effective date.)
Rule Violations Hit the Bottom Line - Oklahoma used motor vehicle dealers are finding
that failure to comply with state and federal regulations can have a negative impact
on store profits.
Out-Of-State Reassignment - Licensed Oklahoma motor vehicle dealers are allowed
to reassign other states’ certificates of title, including tribal titles.
Open Safety Recalls - Independent dealers have three primary choices when faced
with selling a vehicle subject to an open safety recall. Points to consider when
establishing dealership policy are here.
Title Assignment Date - The Motor Vehicle Division of the Oklahoma Tax Commission
issued a reminder that the certificate of title assignment date is the date of ownership
transfer, not the date the title is completed or entered into the OTC system. Here
is more info on Completion of the Certificate of Title.
Contracting With Minors - Dealers frequently ask about procedures for selling a
car to a minor. John Maile, Executive Director of the UMV&PC, has prepared a discussion
of best practices for contracting with minors.
Model Year Changeover - July 1 is the established date that 2014 models become eligible
for used dealer excise tax exemption. However, model year exceptions may apply. Here
is more on excise tax exemptions.
Title 42 Reform - OIADA’s Senate Bill 582, Possessory Lien Reform, legislation becomes
effective November 1, 2014. Get the details…